The Highland of Rawley Springs is a subdivision consisting of 2-10 acre lots are located in a historic area adjacent to the George Washington National Forest. Each lot offers breathtaking views, underground utilities, and are located in the Turner Ashby School District, 9 miles west of Harrisonburg.
Since 1800, Rawley Springs has been a destination for visitors seeking relaxation and a taste of the medicinal waters. In 1810, Benjamin Smith built the first cabin for his mother who had an incurable disease. She recovered fully after spending her first summer in the area. The resort soon flourished and more cabins were built. In 1825, the area was named Rawley Springs after a farmer who lived near the resort.By 1880 three hotels were built on the property accomodating 800 guests. Visitors enjoyed bowling alleys, stables, and music from the bandstand. The resort suffered a loss in 1886 when the Virginia and Washington houses were burned down. Both were rebuilt in 1892 and again burned in 1915.
Recently, Rawley Springs has been a recreation and leisure spot for visitors looking to cool off in Blue Hole or fish in Dry River.